Joyful Decisions About the Future

Earlier about a week or two ago, a friend of mine and I were talking about the future. We were reflecting about how friends around us are growing up and moving on in some ways, while we are just kinda supposed to stay put where we are for right now. It seemed kinda depressing at the moment. But then my friend asked me what I am going to do in the future. This is something I’ve been struggling with for a while. But all of a sudden, I knew.
Interestingly enough, I had an answer.

“Not [quite] sure, but I think it’s to take the gospel to all nations. To preach in the stadiums. To speak on the radio. To talk on tv. To lead people to Christ and His offer to us of salvation, to help Christians grow in their lives and faith, and also to raise a family.”

I’ve come to this decision after almost two-and-a-half years of praying, seeking advice, and reading my Bible. Anybody who knows me knows that I definitely also have a lot of fun discussing politics and related stuff, but I just don’t have the kind of energy to pursue a career in politics, nor would I be cold-hearted enough to expose my family to the kind of stuff that happens to politicians and their families. Also, why would I pursue a career in politics when I utterly detest the idea of career politicians? No, I can’t do that. Besides, I’d prefer not to go into public life.

image

And bottom line, I feel that God has called me to this. I once heard Franklin Graham say, “My father was called to the great stadiums and capitols of the world. I have been called to the ruts and ditches.”

Well, I don’t know about capitols, but honestly, I like both. The great stadiums and the ditches. Because they’re both awesome and filled with people who need Hope and his Love. See, recently, I asked two great, wise women I know, about the situation. Because of the conflict of passion versus perceived duty, I couldn’t decide if I should go into politics or ministry. But one gave me a great idea. Funny thing is, it was great because it was terrible. She implied at one point in the conversation that I should try to pick one place to minister to; start small. It was like a floodgate opened.

The problem? I can’t find just one, small place to minister to. It doesn’t work like that for me. First I wanted to go to West Africa, to the small nation of Burkina Faso to a certain small tribe. Then it was France. Then Brazil, China, Korea (both of them), Tanzania, Chile, Kenya. Then the more western nations, Australia, Britain, Ireland, etc. Europe is falling; they’re dying without Christ, the Church is shrinking, and those who are Christians are persecuted, challenged to compromise their beliefs to, “modernize”, and they need to be strengthened and encouraged by us.

Likewise, here in America, the family is falling apart as marriage dies, children hate, and parents don’t parent anymore (“parant” is a Latin word meaning, “they prepare; this is the job of parents). The inner cities are in turmoil, and the whole nation is engulfed in increasing violence. Also, I know the love I have for my family, I know the love I already have for my wife whom I haven’t married yet and my children who haven’t been born yet. And I know that I want to see my sisters and my parents and my niece and my children and my wife all grow SOOOOO much in their knowledge and love of the Master.

Also, despite my parents being divorced, our family gets along pretty great, much to the surprise of others I know. See, I have friends who have, “perfect” families as the world would see it, but their families are extremely dysfunctional and broken, which is very sad. We need to focus on the family, and the way we can do that is by building people’s faith in Christ, so that they don’t live a life of rules and religion, but of faith, which creates joy and trust.
image

Families need the Holy Spirit and the fruit he produces in us.

Galatians 5:22-26 says: “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law. And those who are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit. Let us not become conceited, provoking one another, envying one another.”

I see it like this: Durham needs Jesus; Jinja, Uganda needs Jesus; Salt Lake City needs Jesus; Chevek, Alaska needs Jesus. The great cities of the world and the small villages alike. They’re all filled with people who need Hope and Rest. Jesus doesn’t, “belong” to any one people group. We all need him.

image

That’s our job. That’s my calling.

Will I make a big deal of it? No. Will I advance myself? No. I will let God do as he pleases and in his good timing. I will wait upon the LORD. Will I ever become as famous as the Graham’s? Hahaha. I hope not! Unlike some people, I don’t like attention! 😉 But I do hope that I will reach as many people with the Message of God: the bad news of judgement for sin, the Good News of salvation from judgement. Wrath and Mercy. Anger and Grace. The message of the Cross.

image

Billy Graham is called to the great stadiums of the world. Franklin Graham is called to the small ditches of the world. I’m called to wherever God sees fit to send me, and I have the feeling it’ll be both.

One thought on “Joyful Decisions About the Future

Leave a Reply

